The International English Language Testing System (IELTS) is widely recognized as a reliable means of assessing the language ability of candidates who need to study or work where English is the language of communication. These Practice Tests are designed to give future IELTS candidates an idea of whether their English is at the required level.

IELTS is owned by three partners: Cambridge Assessment English, part of the University of Cambridge; the British Council; IDP Education Pty Limited (through its subsidiary company, IELTS Australia Pty Limited). Further information on IELTS can be found on the IELTS website www.ielts.org.


IELTS consists of four components. All candidates take the same Listening and Speaking tests. There is a choice of Reading and Writing tests according to whether a candidate is taking the Academic or General Training module.

Academic  General Training
For candidates wishing to study at undergraduate or postgraduate levels and for those seeking professional registration.For candidates wishing to migrate to an English-speaking country (Australia, Canada, New Zealand, UK)  and for those wishing to train or study at below degree level.

The test components are taken in the following order:

Listening: 4 parts, 40 items, approximately 30 minutes
Academic Reading:                                     or                      General Training Reading: 3 sections, 40 items, 60 minutes                                3 sections, 40 items, 60 minutes    
Academic Writing:                                     or                       General Training Writing:
2 tasks 60 minutes                                                                     2 tasks 60 minutes  
Speaking: 11 to 14 minutes
Total Test Time: 2 hours 44 minutes  

error: Content is protected !!